Summers to Remember

Standard

One of my all time favorite family vacations was last year around this time. My dad took me, my sister and brother to Hilton Head Island. I had been to Hilton Head many times before with my best friend and her family, but this was the first time in a long time that my family had taken a summer vacation.

After my parents divorce when I was a senior in high school, my dad had moved back to New Jersey. I don’t get to spend a lot of time with him so it was fun to get to spend an extended amount of time with just him and my siblings.

We stayed for about four days which was the perfect time,because there was no fighting between me and my siblings which sad to say usually happens on longer trips. We still love each though!

We ate at all of all our favorite and touristy restaurants from Wild Wing Cafe to the Salty Dog and a fancier one that I can’t remember the name of! I love t-shirts so my big souvenir was a salty dog t-shirt and of course the rest of my decided to copy me! We just can’t resist a good t-shirt!

There was a jellyfish problem on the beach the third day. Once my dad was stung by one he decided not to go towards the water anymore. My brother and I made fun of him for getting stung and proceed to go into the ocean and get stung. Karma came around really fast.  After spraying some vinegar and water on our mild wounds we decided to stick to the beach too. 

Every beach sport you could play we did. Lawn golf, corn hole, football, Frisbee, volleyball, etc. We were probably some of the last people on the beach. Another reason that this was probably my favorite vacation of all time is because now that my siblings and I are getting older we don’t really take vacations together anymore. I am excited that they will be with be at Georgia Southern in the fall! We are now an eagle family!Image

 

Me and my brother Michael being goofy on the beach.

10 responses »

  1. I know exactly what you mean about the sibling fighting thing! Now that I’m not home all the time, my brothers and I fight less during the times we do spend together and on short trips we take. It will be definitely interesting to see if this remains true this weekend as I’m getting ready to head up to NC with my family for a quick trip. Hopefully it will be smooth sailing!

  2. Pingback: Comments for Week 4 « Tarleton West

  3. Hahaha, that picture sums up your family in a nutshell. Y’all are precious. I’ve always really enjoyed Hilton Head and I feel like it’s a good place to take a more “adult” vacation and relax. I’m glad you got to spend time with your dad!

  4. Pingback: Week 4 – Comments « Michelle's Thoughts

  5. It looks like you guys had tons of fun. Theres nothing like quality time with your family! I’ve been to Hilton Head before but I’ve never been to the beach. I have only been to the outlets. I will have to make a trip down there soon!

  6. Pingback: Summer Vacation Comments « P.R. Writing

  7. I absolutely love Hilton Head! It really is the best beach to go to! I completely agree with you that four days is the perfect vacation length for a trip like this! I am the youngest of four sisters so I know how it can be to get in fights and small arguments with your siblings if you are in close quarters for too terribly long! Also, that picture is absolutely hysterical! soooo cute! I can’t wait to go back to Hilton Head, but I am sad that summer is almost over! 😦

  8. Pingback: Comments PRCA 3330: Week 4 « brittanyforrester

  9. I’m so glad you had a good vacation with the family. I can relate to the sibling fighting. I am the oldest of 5 and my younger sister who is 2 years younger than me do not get a long the majority of the time- we mainly fight over clothes. haha. I also love playing beach games like ladder golf 🙂

  10. Pingback: Comments I made- July 16 « morganlove11

Leave a comment